corner to corner afghan, day 3

November 5, 2008 at 5:00 pm (corner to corner afghan tut, free patterns)

If you are just stopping in, please see day one and day two.

Today we are going to decrease.

I’m going to show you how to decrease AND do a color change, all at the same time!
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 

You can see in the above photo the start of the color change. I ended the old color (the pink) and I’m starting the new color, the blue. I have a slip knot on my hook, and I’m slipping it through the chain space.

Here’s the first shell in the new color completed:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And here we are, a little farther along:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now, when we get to the end of this row, we’ll continue in the same color. So, when we get to the corner, we’ll chain one, turn, slip stitch back the way we came, and in that chain space, we’ll continue shelling across as usual.

If you DECREASE on one side, and continue INCREASING on the other, you’re creating a bias fabric: in other words, a rectangle. If you decrease both sides, you’ll create a square.

Congratuations! You’ve learned how to make a shell stitch, corner to corner afghan.corner

1 Comment

  1. Joanie said,

    I’ve seen this stitch a lot, but I’ve never done it. Thanks for the instructions!

Leave a comment